Combine rails? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2006, 02:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Default Combine rails?

have two 7900gt's that require 28A. I've looked EVERYWHERE and i cannot find a psu with multiple 12V rails that can give this many amperes. Is it the amps PER rail that are important or the combined total of amps of all rails? Also, how do i know whether or not a psu allows you to combine rails? I hear this is possible.

I've been looking at this psu and i think its great but i dunno if i can combine the 12v rails or not for the added amps.

AMD athlon 2.2ghz 64bit 4200+
Vapochill Micro
eVGA 7900gt x2 sli @ 550mhz
Antec Truecontrol 2.0 550w psu
Asus A8n SLI premium
74gb WD raptor
300gb Maxtor Diamond
Corsair x2 1gb XMS ddr400
Air cooled: x3 80mm, x2 120mm

orphan01 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

the AGP/PCI-E slot provides most of the power it needs. the molex plug will provide the rest

Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 04:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

part of the power will com from 12v2 (second rail) via the 6 pin pci-e connector. a lot of the power will come from 12v1 (first rail which powers motherboard) via the ATX connector and any additional power connectors on the motherboard.
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 08:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

[color=blue-green]The link doesn't work, but you want to add the 2,3,or 4 rails up for the total[/color]
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.