cold cathode...probleim? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2005, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to AMD inside all
Default cold cathode...probleim?

Hi i just ordered and recived two logisys green spiral pattern cold cathodes. i just want to find out if this is ok, my probleim is the two white wires that go from the cathode to the voice activated power box thing those two wires when they touch your skin or metal a almost blueness small spark like thing jumps from the wire to the metal the wire gets maybe a degree or two warmer but i dont know if this is bad.

o almost forgot when you touch the wires you feel eletricuted you just feel normal wires.


has anyone had this happen to them?

thanks-tomek
__________________

AMD inside all is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 06:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

that doesn't sound good. did it come with an instalation guide?
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to AMD inside all
Default

nope just came with the packageing that does not say anything about it and velcro.
AMD inside all is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

hmm they have no tech suppport either. I would cap the ends of the cables until you can find out more. Even if you just put a couple good wraps of electricians tape over them. I can guarantee that you are not supposed to get shocks from them cause if you did that to the mobo you could fry it good. I would contact them for more information:

http://www.logisyscomputer.com/StaticPage.asp?page=6
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 06:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to AMD inside all
Default

it seems liek a bad ground because the closer i put the wires tothe case the brighter the cathode's lightning effect gets. but thanks for all of the input.
AMD inside all is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.