CMOS error? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2006, 09:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default CMOS error?

I just installed a new power supply and now when ever I boot up it says CMOS checksum error defaults loaded. When I get to windows nothing works right because the time is wrong.
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 10:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Try entering the BIOS and setting the time and date. Make no other changes, then exit for a re-start.

Does the problem persist? Try resetting you CMOS. Instructions vary slightly, most boards require the CMOS battery to be removed and the CMOS jumper moved to pins 2 & 3 for 10 seconds. Then, replace jumper on pins 1 & 2 and replace the battery. Power on, enter BIOS and set time and date. At this point your BIOS will be reset, and the system should work properly. If you are still geting the checksum error, you may need to replace your CMOS battery.

NOTE: The instructions for resetting the CMOS are for a P5B-D board. Your board may differ slightly, check your manual before doing this operation.

Once you have a stable load to the desktop, power-off and re-start to make sure that the changes were accepted and that the CMOS is saving and loading the BIOS correctly.

Hope this helps!
__________________

__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 10:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

it started fine when i restarted. it only happens whai I unplug it. Is this a battery problem.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 12:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yes. get a new cmos battery. most use a button cell battery
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 01:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

And where is this battery usually located?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

On most boards I've seen, it's in the bottom-right corner. It's a little round battery about the size of a thumbnail. Pop it out and go to an electronics store, but preferably a computer store and get the exact same battery (or the exact equivilant).
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 02:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

ok I'm going to take the battery out tinight. But what I don't get is why would replacing the psu cause this to all of a sudden happen.
Does anyone know?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 04:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Coincidence?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 10:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well for starters, maybe the battery was dead. That's why he would be replacing it. So when you unplug a power suuply there's no more power going to the battery and since it's no longer able to hold a charge it dies out losing all the CMOS info.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 07:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reggie_da_man
Well for starters, maybe the battery was dead. That's why he would be replacing it. So when you unplug a power suuply there's no more power going to the battery and since it's no longer able to hold a charge it dies out losing all the CMOS info.
That makes perfect sense.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.