Cloning IDE to SATA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2004, 09:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Default Cloning IDE to SATA

Need help!

Running an Albatron PX865Pro Motherboard. I was using an IDE drive and decided to install a SATA. No problem, Windows see's the drive and I have formatted it. I now would like to clone my IDE drive onto the SATA drive and remove my IDE drive. I have tried Ghost 2003 and have been on the phone with tech support. Cannot get the clone to take place. Are there any other clone programs out there that may work?
__________________

Poofky is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 11:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Is that the norton version, cause it worked for me?
__________________

__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to bucemdown320
Default

y not juss transfer them from My Computer? that would be smart
bucemdown320 is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Default

The version of Ghost 2003 by Norton.

I was under the impression that just transferring files through My Computer would leave some files behind. When certain files are being used, they will not copy.
Poofky is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 12:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default

I haven't tried a ghost from SATA to PATA drive, but If you have an extra IDE drive, perhaps you could make an iso image of the SATA drive, move it to the extra IDE, then attempt a ghost from the extra drive's stored iso to the preferred pata drive.
Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 01:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Default

That is an interesting idea!

Thanks
Poofky is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 08:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

you can also try using DriveImage or PartitionMagic
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 11:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks Major
__________________

Poofky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.