clock speeds: is this normal? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2005, 06:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Question clock speeds: is this normal?

rivatuner says the following about my x300se:

$0900000005 Memory clock : 195.750MHz (391.500MHz effective)

what does this mean? can i set the clock speed to 391.5Mhz safely? is this telling me the cards potential, or just what the memory clock is somehow running at? everywhere i look on the internet says that the memory speed of the x300se is 300Mhz

isnt the memory speed normally much higher than the core speed? my core is at 324Mhz, but the memory is only at 195.75Mhz

edit: also, i cant find the part in rivatuner where it says if there are any pipelines that can be unlocked. i want to see if there are any, as my card only has 4.

edit2: found the problem, when i go to the low-level system tweaks window, there is no NVStrap tab. why is this?

yet another edit: on the low-level system tweaks box, there is a warning triangle with an exclamation mark over the memory speed, and when i looked in the help, this indicates that the clock is outside the recommedned overclocking margin. how can this be when the card is running on stock speeds?

joshd is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 07:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

For the pipelines: At the Bottom Check Allow enabling hardware asked units, click customize, then Checkmark the 2 Bit xx that say disabled. -

that was a older version so it may be somewhere else but look for that - there may not be any pipelines to un-lock.

If the temperature of the GPU is fine, and you are not getting any artifacts than its fine.

Your memory is DDR - double data rate, means that it is effectively twice as fast as the actual clock speed.


Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 09:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

the memory will be ddr which is why it says 391mhz effective. damn just as i was typing i noticed the bottom of trifid's reply. o well now you have a second opinion
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.