Clock is slow, keeps loosing time. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2004, 10:32 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default

There is something I noticed. I am going to double check this. But I have had my computer off for 10 and a half hours. Just booted a few minutes ago. I reset the clock about ten minutes before I shut everything down. I have lost about a minute and a half. Now I am going to check but I believe when I have the computer on for ten hours straight I loose a lot more time then that. So can it still be the battery? I also wondered if the BIOS needed to be updated. I don't want to do that but I believe if I mess it up there is a jumper setting on the motherboard that sets everything back to normal. I know there is one for the password. I don't like writing down passwords and I forgot the one I used for CMOS. So I looked on the board and it is plainly marked, password. LOL, doesn't get any easier then that. I am going for the simpler solutions first but I will eventually update my BIOS anyways.




Webwolf
__________________

webwolf is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 01:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default

Nope. Whether it is on or off I am loosing the same amount of time. I will replace the battery. Sounds like that is the problem.




Webwolf
__________________

webwolf is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 02:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to NeoNemesis
Default

yeah and i would try to do it as soon as you can.
__________________
<font size=\"4\" <a href=\"http://s7.invisionfree.com/NeoForum/index.php\">My Forum</a>
we are just starting out so we need you to join!
NeoNemesis is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 04:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

The power consumption on those CMOS batteries is very low, but it is also possible that you either got a faulty battery, a faulty mobo CMOS socket, or the battery was damaged somehow (possibly prematurely discharged during handling).

Yer good. Replacement should fix this prob. If not, seek mobo help.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 04:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks everyone. I hope it is just the battery. I have an extended warrenty but I would hate to have to send the computer back. I am getting things just the way I want them.



Webwolf
__________________

webwolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.