Clock is slow, keeps loosing time. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2004, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default Clock is slow, keeps loosing time.

My clock keeps loosing time. In a day I loose about 40 minutes.

My computer is a Compaq Presario S6000CL(Just bought it in February, 2004.)
Pheonix AwardBios Core Version 6.0 BIOS Revision 3.05 11/27/2003
VIA VT8237 SouthBridge(I believe, Compaq is no help in figuring this out, or anything else.)
AMD Athlon XP 2800+

I am running Suse 9.1 and Windows XP. The clock has the same problem in both os'.

Any one have any ideas on the problem or a solution?

Thanks.


Webwolf
__________________

webwolf is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 159
Default

maybe the battery on your motherboard is running out?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon-C Thunderbird @ 1.2 GHz (FSB 133/266MHz)
MSI K7T Turbo Limited Edition (VIA KT133A Chipset)
Visipro 256 MB PC133 SDRAM
PixelView GeForce 2 MX400 Ultra 64MB SDRAM (Samsung 4.5 ns)
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Soundcard
Maxtor 40 GB ATA133 7200 RPM
Logitech Z-560 THX Certified Speakers
MSI D16 16X DVD-ROM
MSI CR52 52X32X52X CD-R/CD-RW
Samsung 753DF 17\" Flat CRT Monitor
Windows XP Pro SP1
WeHa is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

yup, u need to change your cmos battery. its one of those watch batteries.
xotix is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default

I will give that a try in the next couple of days and post the results. The computer isn't that old. I thought the battery would last a little longer then that. I have a 486 that still has the original battery in it, lol. It works, though it doesn't get much use anymore .



Webwolf
webwolf is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

how old is your computer??
xotix is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 159
Default

hmm, have tried to look in date and time properties?
go to internet time then check "automatically synchronize with an internet time server".
__________________
AMD Athlon-C Thunderbird @ 1.2 GHz (FSB 133/266MHz)
MSI K7T Turbo Limited Edition (VIA KT133A Chipset)
Visipro 256 MB PC133 SDRAM
PixelView GeForce 2 MX400 Ultra 64MB SDRAM (Samsung 4.5 ns)
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Soundcard
Maxtor 40 GB ATA133 7200 RPM
Logitech Z-560 THX Certified Speakers
MSI D16 16X DVD-ROM
MSI CR52 52X32X52X CD-R/CD-RW
Samsung 753DF 17\" Flat CRT Monitor
Windows XP Pro SP1
WeHa is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WeHa
hmm, have tried to look in date and time properties?
go to internet time then check "automatically synchronize with an internet time server".

Yep. Tried that. I can keep the time accurate that way but I want to find out why it is doing this in the first place. When I was using Mandrake it had a program that automatically synchronized the clock. I need to find a good one(one I like,) to use with Suse.
I am not to worried about XP. I only use that for games.

My computer is about six months old.


Webwolf
webwolf is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

ur battery should have lasted longer than that. but more than likely its your cmos battery.
xotix is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 12:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 159
Default

yep, should give a look on it.
__________________
AMD Athlon-C Thunderbird @ 1.2 GHz (FSB 133/266MHz)
MSI K7T Turbo Limited Edition (VIA KT133A Chipset)
Visipro 256 MB PC133 SDRAM
PixelView GeForce 2 MX400 Ultra 64MB SDRAM (Samsung 4.5 ns)
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Soundcard
Maxtor 40 GB ATA133 7200 RPM
Logitech Z-560 THX Certified Speakers
MSI D16 16X DVD-ROM
MSI CR52 52X32X52X CD-R/CD-RW
Samsung 753DF 17\" Flat CRT Monitor
Windows XP Pro SP1
WeHa is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 01:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

I have a friend that has a Dell 8300 seriers and his battery went out after about 6 months. It may be defective....just think,...all hardware you get for your computer is not always perfect. If a motherboard can go out in a few months, so can a battery.
__________________

__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.