cleaning motherboard in dishwasher? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2004, 02:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

I agree with cas0496, tell him to toss it in .
__________________

aye29 is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 02:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 51
Default

Your teacher may wants you to damage your motherboard first , then he will teach you how to repair it , if he knows
__________________

loner is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 03:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Default

*beep* You're teacher is not qualified to be a computer teacher. He need some serious electronics knowledge. I mean, I'm saying Mobo is build in with chips,transistor, etc. Mobo is a sensitive board which consists of transistors and some highly important chips that are very sensitive to high energy such touching of any chips prior to grounding yourself, water which contains chemicals which will disable some molecules and result into chips burnt out. There you will have to be a new mobo.

Vacuum it.....It will work fine, but also watch out to not break anything from the board.
__________________
Mandrake 9.2/Win XP
Asus A7V333 Socket A
AMD Athlon 1800+
DDR260 RAM 512MB
Maxtor 6L080J4 80GB
Nvidia GeForce FX 5200 128MB
Creative SB Audigy
LG Burner 32X 10X 40X
Standard 101/102 Keyboard
PS/2 Mouse
RealTek Ethernet NIC
KDS USA monitor
1394 Net Adapter
nu_in_tha_spot is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 04:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Talking

uhhhh , ok i forgot to mention.. the mobos he will expirement on are known to not be working for some ghostly reason or just not work at all. he isnt going to put a "good" mobo in . but i'll report back just to see if we do get some real nifty results!!
pizzanchy is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 04:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

N' what would be the use of this "freaky" experiment
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 04:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Send a message via AIM to yashar
Default

man does that even sound like it would work? sorry but that is an insane teacher.
yashar is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 04:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Insane's not the word ...... It's like he's Dr.frankinstein or somethin
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 07:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

make sure you use the extra rinse cycle to get that board nice 'n clean
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 07:53 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 232
Default

Be sure to use JetDry....leaves a nice clear rinse which is crucial for optimal computing!!

If your instructor asks you to take a bath with your computer then you might want to consider a transfer...I'm just sayin....
cas0496 is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 10:38 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Lightbulb

so basically everyone thinks its very moronic to try this??

is anyone even curious that it MAY work?? i mean really , why wouldnt it?? besides the water oxidising the copper traces to nothing, why else wouldnt it work!?!?! o.O
__________________

pizzanchy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.