Cleaning the dust out of my computer. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2008, 11:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Cleaning the dust out of my computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
READ THE BOTTLE!
EDIT: Do you mean an actual air compressor!? Not a can of compressed air? I don't think you should use an air compressor... just use something standard... don't be a cheapo for something thats $3
Quote:
I have a air compressor in my dads garage
Yes, he's wondering about using an actual air COMPRESSOR.

Like I said in my previous post, just check to see if it sprays water when you spray air. If it does, just use canned air. If it doesn't, then by all means: go ahead. I've done it on tons of computers at where I work when they're really dirty, because we have a garage door that goes outside in the shop that I work on 'em in, and there's an air compressor right by the door, so I just take the PC out there, set it down on the concrete, and blast it out w/ the air compressor.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 02:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Cleaning the dust out of my computer.

I do it all the time, about once a month. Like others have said, check for water first then blow away. I live in the desert, I really like when it snows.
__________________

__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 07:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: Cleaning the dust out of my computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
The computer will not run faster because its been dusted... cooling may become better, but the computer itself won't go any faster or slower...
True, but i'd still say its worth cleaning out fairly regularly


Most air compressors have a water trap, so you should be fine. just spray first to make sure though.
Andyf is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 08:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Cleaning the dust out of my computer.

If the compressor has a pressure regulator, you may want to turn it down a little. 1200 PSI can rip wires loose... among other things.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 01-04-2008, 09:16 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: Cleaning the dust out of my computer.

I think you'd be hard pressed to find a 1200psi air compressor, mate. Thats 'will kill you and your eardrums' pressure. I think you mean 120 psi

generally you throttle them anyway by modulating the spray lever.
Andyf is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 11:05 AM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Cleaning the dust out of my computer.

I'm more used to airless compressors that run multiple guns and pressure washers. Besides, 40 PSI should be more than sufficient.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 01-04-2008, 02:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Cleaning the dust out of my computer.

It actually improves performance by 1000% if you dust

in all seriousness, it gets the dust off everything so, your fans spin better,items are not insulated and overheat, HD doesnt get too hot which lowers performance.
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 03:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default Re: Cleaning the dust out of my computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
READ THE BOTTLE!

jesus, people these days can't do basic research on their own...

tilting the bottle downwards can cause liquid or moisture to come out in mist or actual liquid flow... so don't tilt it and you'll be fine!

short bursts not long sprays will prevent anything from happening

even if water comes out, your fine as long as you don't power up while its wet, dry it off thoroughly and leave it off for 24 hours

EDIT: Do you mean an actual air compressor!? Not a can of compressed air? I don't think you should use an air compressor... just use something standard... don't be a cheapo for something thats $3
Learn to spell and why would I be cheap if I wanted to use something that has more pressure then a can?

If you can read you can see I used the word air compressor.
KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 03:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default Re: Cleaning the dust out of my computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KCRMYZ View Post
Learn to spell and why would I be cheap if I wanted to use something that has more pressure then a can?

If you can read you can see I used the word air compressor.
Air Compressors alone cost over 200 dollars.
KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 04:48 PM   #20 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Cleaning the dust out of my computer.

WOW this thread went a bit wrong, a quick question: if you get water or something in your mobo, will it destroy it or will it still work if you wait for it to dry out?
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New computer wont turn on jOnniesz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-09-2007 01:08 AM
computer hang on some installations?? mouse moves BlkShdw88 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 07-04-2007 06:07 AM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.