Clarification, please. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2004, 12:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Question Clarification, please.

Okay, I know MicroBell posted that great topic on SATA drives, but I need some extra confirmations and head-nods.

Can I take this board (MSI K7N2 Delta2 Platinum), 2 brand new SATA drives (ex. Seagate 120g SATA), and just plug them in, fire up the system with the WinXP Pro disc in the CD-ROM drive, and go?

Or do I have to play around with something else?

I've never setup a clean system with SATA's. I've either only had IDEs, or installed SATA drives after-the-fact (on an established system).

I'm buying a new system (self-built) and I plan on having SATA drives installed first. Later I'll pop-in my old IDEs on the IDE chain, after I have the new system stable and running.

__________________

ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 01:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

I guess your afriad the SATA driver won't be there?

First I would set it up and try it. It should work fine. When you first boot your system it boots from the CD-ROM (make sure you have this selected in your BIOS). During the Windows install it should give you a list of all dectable devises (EIDE and SATA) choose which hard drive you want as your primary. The rest is cake.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 03:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

That's kinda what I figured.

I'm guessing that the board I picked (since it's newer and supports SATA) will be all set and ready. I know people who've used PCI-SATA controllers have had problems, but since this board has the connectors right on it, I don't think I should run into any problems.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 04:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I got the MSI KT6V board, also has 2 SATA connectors. Have never touched them. Process seems long and windy from the thread that discusses how to set them up =/
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.