Cl2? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2005, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default Cl2?

What is "CL2" mean on the Corsair ram? im assumin it has to do with the latency
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 09:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

CAS Latency
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

...and the CAS means?
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 10:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

Column Access Strobe
contry is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 10:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

the lower the better and 2 is the best you can get other than 1.5 which is really rare.
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 10:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah and the only modules I see pulling 1.5 is BH-5's with some extreme voltage behind them.....I know I've seen atleast one guy at XS have some mushkins I believe running 1.5 CAS latency......but in reality the CL doesn't offer any performance benefits, it mainly aids in stability.......but 1.5 is a nice cause for bragging rights
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 02:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
......but in reality the CL doesn't offer any performance benefits, it mainly aids in stability......
you mean between 2.0 and 1.5? Cause back in a day with pc-100/133 the difference between 2 and 3 was very noticable.
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 05:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I'm talking about between 1.5 and 3 if you want......we're not "back in the day" either so theres no point in even taking that into consideration....if you've got DDR, CL doesn't mean squat......BH-5's wont run with CL of 3 though
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 06:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

so you admit you were wrong?
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 07:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

RAM latencies do barely anything with current RAM.
just think about it, what's 2 or 3 clock cycles out of at least 200000000 per second?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.