Choosing A Wired Router - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2003, 10:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Default Choosing A Wired Router

Hi all !

Need a bit of assistance please. Am looking to buy a wired router, but don't know anything about them, and am having trouble finding relevant articles online.

Are all wired routers the same? Is there any feature I should look for? Is any brand better than the others? Will I be able to surf chat game and download files still?

Any advice will be much appreciated!
__________________

kytherea is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 11:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Well, alot of opinions are around, but basically all routers do the same functions.

You will still be able to do all those things, though it might require a bit of configuration on your router.
(I should be able to help with that, when you get it.)

To be honest, if you want the easiest one to configure, see if you can find a "2wire Homeportal"

Not sure if those are sold retail or not. Otherwise, you cant go wrong with a Linksys Cable/DSL router.
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 04-08-2003, 10:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Yep, you can't go wrong with a Linksys.

It's what I use at home and it's what we use at school.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 04-10-2003, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

I like D-Link Routers! No problem with mine and it was cheap for like $30 on Sale! Its not hard with a wired router *Thinks Back* Ok...I'd probably go with cordless!

You'd need a CAT5 Cable and my cable is 50 ft long and just reaches - holes in cellar ceiling and everything!

Hehe, I hope Im talking about a right router!
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForceģ GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 04-10-2003, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

Go for a cisco 2514.. Yeah.. they are cool.. you can do all sorts of things with those.

That would be cool if you could afford it, but you probably can't and even if you could you would more than likely be biting off a bit more than you could chew.. so yes a Linksys is good.
__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.