Checked my CPU temp in BIOS and... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2005, 01:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

Wouldn't Arctic Silver 5 work better though?
__________________

__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 02:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

whats with 'Gigabyte' and their products being involved somehow with heating problems?...
idunno if you ask me
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 03:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lasrix
whats with 'Gigabyte' and their products being involved somehow with heating problems?...
idunno if you ask me
I can't tell if you're being sarcastic or serious so i'm going to answer you as if you were being serious..

Gigabyte isn't the problem. Intel is.


To answer your question about the motherboard..

1) check for bios updates

2) make sure that your fan is *properly* mounted on the cpu

i had a problem with dual xeons running on supermicro xdal boards where the backplane that supports the cpu fans would actually bend the motherboard. Ended up using some nuts to mount the cpufan to the MB and then mounted the mb in the system.. Before i fixed the fans cpu1 was running at around 80 in the bios and cpu2 was 70ish. After the fix cpu1 was running at 40, cpu2 was running at 39.

3) Remove your thermal compound (scrape it off with a razor blade) and reapply. When you apply the paste use a piece of cardboard to make a nice even thin coat (on the cpu). You don't want huge gobs of thermal paste, it actually decreases its effectiveness. Most of the thermal pads that come with retail heat sinks suck.


Gigabyte is not the problem, your problem is intel.. My system is overclocked right now by 700mhz (i got a venice amd64 3500 and overclocked it to 2.9ghz), my cpu is idling (with music playing and some firefox windows) at 30c

edit.. the 775s should run at 45-50 idle
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 03:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Quote:
Gigabyte isn't the problem. Intel is.
Amen to that. lol
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 03:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

I am fully aware that Intels run hot (and according to Tom's Hardware, sometimes fatally hot, in the case of 3.8 Prescotts), but I do beleive that 96C is well out of operating specifications. I have touched the heatsink in the past, and I could bearly feel any heat. It certainly did not cause any pain. As for the thermal pad, I did not tamper with it in any way, it is the stock pad (which apparently is actually reasonable). Mounting, as this was my first computer build (it's been running for more than 8 months now), I had a friend help me with the mounting. I witnessed it and everythign seems to go smoothly. I assume they are designed so there is no wrong way to physically mount them (ie you can't have it rotated 90 degrees and still have it go on). I will check for BIOS update, though. But one would think we would have mastered making temperature diodes by now...
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 06:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by digitaloracle
1. No, stock speeds
2. The stock LGA cooler is actually pretty good, and most aftermarket ones are based upon it's design (look on Tom's Hardware)
3. LOL wish I could
4. Yeah, you caught the problem "somehow"

As long as there is virtually no way that the computer could be remotely stable at 96C, I can be pretty sure that they are false. Last time I buy from Gigabyte
Gigabyte's a great company, I buy from them all the time with no problems. Not trying to dis you, just trying to get my preference across .
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 07:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

I really shouldn't hold anythign against them. Anyhow, I sent out a support request to them about this problem. I just hope the sensors are broken, and that there is a way to fix them via software.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 08:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
Jae
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 245
Default

daang, my cpu ran @140F and i thought that was hot
__________________
Lenovo Thinkpad X220
i7 2620M
4GB DDR3 1333MHz
320GB HDD 5400rpm :(
Jae is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Dude, truth is i own a 3.4 GHZ LGA 775 cpu. YES THAT IS THE CORRECT TEMPERATURE! I had a better than stock heatsink and i was only cooling at about 80 C. That was with AS5. You will have to buy a better heatsink with these boards they run hot as hell.

Stock cooling absolutly wont work. Water cooling or a good heat pipe cooler will keep it cool.

Just becareful i mounted a Thermal Take cooler on mine and on the backside the voltage pins poked through the pad and shorted out my mobo. So, make sure if u buy a mounting unit with a new heatsink they dont poke through.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

use electrical tape or a dremel it works wonders. i had that problem on the gigabyte k8ns* with zalman 7000 backplanes.

if you're going to get a new heatsink checkout the zalman 7700cu. it's worth it if it will fit in your system.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.