Checked my CPU temp in BIOS and... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2005, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default Checked my CPU temp in BIOS and...

HOLY S**T!
96 C!
This was after the system had been running for several hours, but not really doing anything stressful (just websurfing and playing videos/music).
Could this temperature be correct? I am running an LGA775 P4 3Ghz (I think that that means it's a Prescott) with stock cooling. When I first boot up and go into BIOS (after around 10 hours off), it reads 55C, and climbs rather steadily. MBM5, which says it is incompatible with my motherboard, displays temperatues of -55C, -2C, and some others, one of which I found once at 96C, then a bit later it had dropped to something more normal. It has been a while since I looked at MBM5, so those numbers are just for background.
Is it likely that my temp diodes are broken? Or is that the real CPU temp? It is still running at 3Ghz (in windows system properites), and my computer appears to be stable at this temp.

EDIT: Gigabyte GA-8I915G Pro, BTW
__________________

digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 08:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

Theres another post on here somewhere about someone having a similar problem with the abit av8 3rd eye, my friends got the same processor and his never get high temps like that, so i doubt they are true. Dont really know what you could do to get the real temp readings tho
__________________

__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

1. Did you overclock it? If yes, how much?
2. Try a different cooler, never run stock stuff
3. Get an AMD
4. Get your diodes checked, somehow.
5. If you need more help, don't ask me, I ran out of ideas.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 08:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

1. No, stock speeds
2. The stock LGA cooler is actually pretty good, and most aftermarket ones are based upon it's design (look on Tom's Hardware)
3. LOL wish I could
4. Yeah, you caught the problem "somehow"

As long as there is virtually no way that the computer could be remotely stable at 96C, I can be pretty sure that they are false. Last time I buy from Gigabyte
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

I wouldnt even of gotten a Gigabyte board in the first place. But on the subject at hand, Yes, those numbers are completely false.
algu7344 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

How hot is your heatsink, if it's not OWWWWWWW hot i am guessing you have a sensor problem
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 12:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by digitaloracle
1. No, stock speeds
2. The stock LGA cooler is actually pretty good, and most aftermarket ones are based upon it's design (look on Tom's Hardware)
3. LOL wish I could
4. Yeah, you caught the problem "somehow"

As long as there is virtually no way that the computer could be remotely stable at 96C, I can be pretty sure that they are false. Last time I buy from Gigabyte

First off, Gigabytes are great.
Also do you have the thermal pad on the HSF? And also did you put it on right????????

I OC my 2.8 to 3.6 with an idle of 42c and max 51c
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 12:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Well I'm sure he does have some type of thermal compound, maybe not a pag but something otherwise I don't think his cpu would work very long.
Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 01:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default

Ha, I have a Gigabyte board and running 30's for my CPU. AMD rocks the house. Intel CPU always run too hot.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 12:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vampire_Slayer
Well I'm sure he does have some type of thermal compound, maybe not a pag but something otherwise I don't think his cpu would work very long.
All stock LGA775 P4's come with a thermal pad. that is the recommended way of transferring heat between the spreader and the HSF.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.