Check disk at startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2005, 12:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default Check disk at startup

I got in my case to do some cable management and during the process unplugged and replugged in my sata drives. Now, durring Windows startup it does check disk on the secondary drive everytime. It passes and the disk works properly, but it is annoying. Any ideas on how to stop this? What do you think causes this?
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 01:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Everytime? Hmm, are you shutting off your computer properly each time?
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 01:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Everytime? Hmm, are you shutting off your computer properly each time?
Yes, this is after normal shut downs....
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 05:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

bump
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 09:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

We've got heads on sticks. Bump.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 01:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

read all replies from this discussion: http://reviews.cnet.com/5208-6142-0....sageID=1086464

I assume Bob may have linked you to instructions on how to suppress chkdsk on bootup/restart- or maybe Ed O'Daniels's solution did the same. Anyway, I had same problem on bootup on partition H, a partition on my 80 gig slave. I booted into safe-mode (probably should have booted into command prompt, but I was in Safe-Mode already), opened up a command prompt window by typing cmd in the RUN box, then ENTER. Then at the prompt, I typed:

H: chkdsk /f /r . I hope I have the syntax correct; hopefully, Bob or someone else will correct me if I have it wrong. Anyway, the /f and /r switches- to the best of my recollection from my dos days, was to find and repair bad sectors on my partition H. Poof, the problem went away (prepare for a long scan if you have a slow system.) Strangely, there was no report of anything wrong, but the problem went away. Hope this is of some help.

-----------------------------------------------
Conclusion
After command the /f /r in window than retsart, it takes the chhdsk....
It took quite a long time and stayed at 4%.... I can't wait longer & pressed the soft button to reboot, it solved the problem.

Thanks again for everybody!!
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 02:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Thanks for the reply. I got to the part and ran chkdsk /f /r and it said something about drive in use do you want to "dismount" the drive, all handles to drive will be invalid. I said no and stopped the process. What does that mean?
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 05:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

idiotec if everything else fails reinstall your OS. dismounting a drive means it will be made unavailable, I am pretty sure it doesn't destroy data. I have no experience with this problem personally so I wouldn't know what to advise you other than a reinstall. It is most likely an operating system problem. this check disk problem occurs frequently with windows98 and millenium
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 05:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Thanks for the help. I will try that, hopefully it work...
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.