cheapness is not a sense - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2004, 12:20 AM   #41 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 192
Default

^_^ tee hee I just wanted to sound smart tee hee
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
Pridurak is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 12:29 AM   #42 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Default

I've just quoted a price of 710 ukp for a system very similar to that.

AMD 64 3500+ 939
Don't remember the motherboard, I think Asus. gig lan etc.
1 gig 400 RAM (crucial)
9800pro GFX
160gb SATA HD
Good mouse
Good keyboard

It was just the box though, no OS or moniter, which add a lot to the price. I'm also advising to wait until PCI-Express boards become available.

Oh, and I buy from eBuyer and cclcomputers generally.

edit : And that included 17.5% VAT too... the price without that was a lot less.
__________________

Smauler is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 12:31 AM   #43 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 192
Default

ukp???
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
Pridurak is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 12:40 AM   #44 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Default

UK Pounds... not sure what the exchange rate is now, I think it may be about $1.7 to 1ukp. I don't use £ because it doesn't show up right in some places
Smauler is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 12:48 AM   #45 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Default

The only thing lacking really on the system is the graphics card, everything else is very close to top spec. Of course, you could also get 10k rpm HDs, but they cost a lot more. Heh, I've got an old 5400rpm drive that does me fine :P. I do want a pair of 36gb 15k SCSIs though, they're coming down in price... but not realistic for a home system yet .
Smauler is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 12:53 AM   #46 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 192
Default

I want 6800GT by eVGA but nobody sells it in vancouver! :{
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
Pridurak is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 01:19 AM   #47 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Default

6800 by eVGA? What's that?
Smauler is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 02:03 AM   #48 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smauler
6800 by eVGA? What's that?
What's this thing attached to the end of my leg? Ohhh that's my foot!

See:
http://www.evga.com/
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 02:09 AM   #49 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Default

Oh... it's just one of the million different companies supplying their own nvidia or ATI products. Sorry I didn't get that. I thought it was something different from the standard replication.
__________________

Smauler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.