cheap case with decent psu and 24pin connector? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2005, 04:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default cheap case with decent psu and 24pin connector?

i need a cheap case with a decent psu (maybe antec?, or just one that won't crash on my 64 3200+ 6600gt pci-e mobo) with a 24pin connector (i've read that pci-e requires a 24pin connector)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

24 pin psu, cost at least over 70bux.
just get a good 20pin psu, and get an adapater
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 05:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

where's a cheap and reliable place i can get a 24pin adapter?

also, is a 24pin adapter NEEDED (like can i put a 20pin adapter in my 24pin mobo and still work?)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 05:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

newegg.com
it will probaly work like some people said it would, but its better to be safe then sorry, plus an adapter only cost like 6 bux.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 07:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

agreed 24pin psus are expensive but i wouldnt trade mine for a more powerful 20pin on.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 07:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

That was the one thing I f'd up on when I ordered my parts and got a 24pin mobo with a 20pin psu. I have been runing it so far without an adapter, so yes it works. I still plan on getting one just haven't gotten my lazy *** to do it yet. My manual said it "wasn't recommended." But didn't say DON'T either. So, I don't think your risking anything fatal.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.