cheap 512mb graphics cards? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2006, 04:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Agreed, most GPU's cannot use up all of the 512 MB of ram, so it is pointless to have the extra ram.
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 05:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
Default

A card isnt good just because it has 512mb of ram.
__________________

Funky_Junk is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 09:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

The 6600GT GPU isnt fast enough to utilize the 256MB of ram and sometimes gets slowed down, that's why the 128MB is better.'

It's not only like the GPU and the core clock speeds, and the mem bit. :up:

Don't forget teh pipelines

That's why the 6600GT is clocked at 500/500*1000* but the 7800GT is onyl clocked at 445/510 but it has 20 pipelines compared to 8, and an extra 128MB that it can actually use! So it outperformsn it by 1083084304 million miles
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.