cheap 512mb graphics cards? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2006, 05:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default cheap 512mb graphics cards?

whats the deal with these, ive seen few 512mb VGAs, for same price as some 128mb....eg http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/AGP.html (4th one down?
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

its probably refurbished or used.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

naa, not there, poor exaple pehaps, but i see them all the time, espiclly on ebay, look up 512mb graphics card, theres always loads goin cheap, just wondering why?
harry18 is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 10:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default

you can get Nvidia 6800 GT 512MB from newegg.com .. it cost about 100 - 150 USD
SpringNite is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 11:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

they're probably bad quality parts inside of it, and poor compatibility.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 08:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by harry18
naa, not there, poor exaple pehaps, but i see them all the time, espiclly on ebay, look up 512mb graphics card, theres always loads goin cheap, just wondering why?
that's because the GPU isn't the best.
the 512MB card on that site is an X1600

what makes a card good is not the amount of memory it has. it's the GPU (graphical processing unit)

for example, a 7900 GT 256MB is one of the top cards on the market. it performs much better than the 512MB X1600.

or there is the Radeon 9800 Pro. tests show that often the 128MB version outperforms the 256MB version.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 01:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

hmmmm, interesting, so what makes a good card then, lemme get this right, a graphics card has its own cpu and memory, so one of those VGAs would be like putting 1gb ram in y mobo, with a 400mhz P2, when you want a p4 with that gig, right?, how can you tell how good the vid card is then?
harry18 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 06:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the GPU is what makes a card fast
first, you want to look for a card with more pixel pipelines. the more pipelines, the more it can render at one time.
also, the higher the clock speeds, the faster the pipelines render.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 07:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Yep, first look for the most pixels, then when you find a few you like look for the highest clock speeds. Don't even worry about the memory.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 11:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Cards with 512 MB would have to have a powerful GPU. This is because only a few things use up more then 256MB of VRAM, and in order to get the settings that use more then 256MB you have to have the settings jacked WAY UP. Maxing out games like FEAR, Doom 3, and Quake 4 on high resolutions (which uses around 300-400MB of VRAM) will kill a 512MB 6600GT or a X1600.

Look at the GPU first then the memory. But the things you should look for when looking at memory is:

Type of memory (you want GDDR3)
is it 256-bit or 128-bit?
What speed is it?
How much of it is there (128, 256, 512)?

Most new games on high settings on normal resolutions like 10x7 and 12x10 use around 100-140MB of VRAM. Therefor I recommend that you get 256MB. 128 is starting to reach it's cap, but 256 is fine for now.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.