Changing to new case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2004, 05:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default Changing to new case

hey, im looking into buying a new case for my comp and transferring all my parts to it. Right now I have a Sony PCV-RX560, P4, hd/cd-re/dvd, the works.

here's the case I'm looking at, its the Thermaltake Xaser III Lanfire:

I'm doin this mostly for looks, and want to add some rounded cables/cathodes.

what's the best way to go about transferring all my parts to the new case?

thx in advance

BlindApex is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205

Well, computer parts can be hard to remove, I suggest a cowbar. Seriously, all you have to do is unscrew them one by one and put them in the new case one by one. Make sure you Unplug the computer before you do anything of course. To save time you can leave the CPU and Ram attached, they wont get in the way. Have fun with the new case, it's cool.

Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

you shouldunderstand how to re-connect all your wires back into their correct pins for USB, front panel, . . . .hmm guess that's actually most of it. as long as you dont short circuit the USB +5volt & -5volt pins together you are safe. doing that should fry your computer nicely. if you are tranfering hardware from a pre-manufactered computer like dell, gateway, hp, compaq, emachines. . .you are really wasting your money.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788

As ekÆsine has stated all you will need to know his how and where to put your wires and hardware back in.
However, some complications might arrise like that case being very complicated and when you take your hardware out of your old computer make sure you are very delicate as some may get danmaged when taken out.
XT is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 02:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex

yup the case is VERY complicated...but I'm hoping to buy the case now and when I get enough money, strip all the parts out and put in a top of the line system (for today's standards)
BlindApex is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.