changing mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2004, 09:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default changing mobo

when i swap out a mobo do i have to do anything to the os?
__________________

straightv6 is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 09:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

The operating system installed on the drive will need to be introduced to the new hardware.
What OS are you using?
If you are using NT, 2000 or XP you can run a repair installation and then reinstall all of your software once on there.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 09:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default

using xp
how do i do a repair?
straightv6 is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 10:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

to repair the os you need to download and make the 6 boot disks from microsoft. Once the last disk is loaded there will be the option R that will repair the OS. You will probably have to reload all your programs.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 01:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default

would i just be able to format and reinstall?
__________________
1 fast and 1 slow
straightv6 is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Here is a some good tutorials that will answer your questions on how to do a repair of XP

http://www.webtree.ca/windowsxp/repair_xp.htm
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 12:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Here's a link for the Boot Disks http://www.bootdisk.com/
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 06:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

and here's exactly what needs to be done:

http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/...4&m=1400925745
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 08:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default

thanks for the help
__________________

__________________
1 fast and 1 slow
straightv6 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.