Changing a laptops CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2006, 05:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default Changing a laptops CPU

Hey all,

I've got an overheating problem with my laptop (Acer Aspire 1620), its got a

Intel P4 Northwood 3Ghz

It gets really hot very quickly, even when doing things like e mail and webpages.

I was wondering if it possible for me to switch the CPU with a new one prehaps this Core Duo

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819111180

I think they are the same socket.

Would this work? and would it cure my over heating problem?

And also could i swap the laptops P4 with the 2.4 Ghz p4 in my PC?

Thanks
__________________

Smoosh is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 06:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

No can do. The P4 Northwood 3Ghz is a socket 478 processor. Core Duo is 479.

Besides this, there would be further issues such as whether your BIOS supports the processor, and whether the system is designed to withstand the specific CPU in terms of thermal dissipation etc.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 06:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default

On the newegg site it said it was 478 :S

Would a slower p4 help?
Smoosh is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 08:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Apologies ...

Take at look at socket 478 processors here in the search return:

http://www.techpowerup.com/cpudb/?ma...name=&package=

I would think that these processors can potentially work in your system, if your BIOS has support for them.

Unfortunately, you'll be scarificing higher clock speeds for lower heat.

The Pentium M processors would be ideal.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 06:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default

What about this one?

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=83659

I don't understand why it says its socket 478 and 479 :S

how will I find out if it is supported? or is it just just a matter of trial and error?

Thanks for the help
Smoosh is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 08:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

if you have overheating problems with a single core processor, swapping it with a dual core will only create more heat
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.