Changing Hard Drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2005, 07:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133
Default Changing Hard Drives

Hello - please help - it's doin' my head in!!!

Have a Dell Dimension with 20Gb Hard Drive - have bought a 120Gb to replace because I want to put Linux on aswell as Xp that I already have. Used Partition Magic to Copy XP partition from 20GB drive to free space on 120Gb drive - copies fine, but sais something about 'this partition might not be bootable' I have tried copying it in it's external usb-IDE case and also plugged inside the case as a primary slave. Both copy partition, but have same answer about not being bootable. Looked in BIOS - sais maximum size next to new disk 65535 meg or something similar, so I reduced the NTFS partition down to 60000MB, as I was originally going to have 80/40 with the 40GB for Linux. Still the same - doesnt boot from primary XP partition. If you can help you are a genius.!

PS there's a big drink in it for you if I ever met you

duncan is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133

P.S There's a discrepancy of about 5 MB between the original and copid partitions - does this mean anything - I was expecting them to be identical.

duncan is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031

dont use partition magic to copy. Only use it for partitioning your hard drives. Use Norton Ghost to copy partitions or entire hard drives.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 143

You cant boot from the new drive because it doesnt have your master boot record on it.
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.4Ghz \"Winchester\" 939 pin
Asus A8V Deluxe rev 2.0 Bios 1010.003
2x 512 3200 Corsair Twin XMS Dual Channel
120GB 7200rpm Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 2MB cache
160GB 7200rpm Seagate Barracuda SATA 8MB Cache Configured for RAID 0+1
Chaintec Geforce 6800 @ 411Mhz Core, 877 Mhz memory
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
450Watt PSU
17inch Samsung monitor
Rayne is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133

how do i put the MBR on the new drive - or is that not the way it works??

Can you do this with partition magic or as Sport1031 sais above, with Norton Ghost?
duncan is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10

This can happen even when using Norton Ghost.

I had 2 IBM's I was rebuilding for my company (I'm the tech support guy). The machines were very similar. (same model of Netvista but with different sized hard drives and slightly different motherboards)

I made an image of Win2k and gosted it onto the second machine. I booted it and got a "Inaccessable boot device" error.

I booted into the recovery console off the cd and used ALL the recovery tools, including the one that rebuild the MBR. But it didn't help.

"Inaccessable boot device"

I booted into the DOS tools from Partition Magic and corrected a partition table error.

"Inaccessable boot device"

Booted back into recovery console and re ran all the correction tools.

"Inaccessable boot device"

At this point I decided I was spending more time on it that it would take to rebuild it from scratch. So that's what I did.

Technet has some stuff on how to correct this. You'll have to do the search yourself.

Im my case I think it was that the IDE driver was looking for something that didn't exist on the new MB, or perhaps it had a configuration setting that didn't work with the new MB. All of which piss me off because they were supposed to be identical machines... but that's another story...

What I suggest is to boot back into your original drive, uninstall the IDE controller from device manager, then shutdown (NOT REBOOT). Then ghost that image to your new drive, install, and boot up.

This might solve your problem. At least it's what I'd try next....
canukistan_2342 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 12:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952

Format the 120 and install it as a second HD. Transfer files from the 20 to 120 to free up its space, then partion part of it off and install Linux.

You'll have a dual boot 20 gig HD, and a 120 gig storage drive.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 03-24-2005, 12:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133

thanks for advice - i need the 20 GB taken out for another purpose - I have found something useful at
will try this as it sounds promising and then re-post.
duncan is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 01:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
GrimReaper23's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23

Well I just copied it right over and mine works great so I don't know what to tell you
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 01:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133

what you just CTRL-A and then dragged onto the new drive (pre-formatted obviously) - might be the easiest solution yet... can you confirm

duncan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.