Chaintech 6600 GT problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2005, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ky9
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 36
Default Chaintech 6600 GT problem

Just put it in my soltek pci-e board.


the card turns on, but the monitor doesnt pick up anything. what can i do???
__________________

Ky9 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 03:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

does ur motherboard say any beeps or noises through ur speaker? try resaeating the card if it doesent work then try it on a diff comp see if it works that way... u can contact me on aim ... bigtimeballer504


peace
__________________

bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 03:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigtimeballer50
does ur motherboard say any beeps or noises through ur speaker? try resaeating the card if it doesent work then try it on a diff comp see if it works that way... u can contact me on aim ... bigtimeballer504


peace
:imwithstupid:

Their were quite a few bad 6600GT's floating around and you may have got one.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 04:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

A monitor not coming on doesn't mean the vid card necessarily simply because thats where the signal comes from...if you don't hear your computer BEEP once signalling that it's atleast POST'ing then you have hardware problem in which it could be the mobo, CPU, vid card, or RAM.

Take out the vid card and see if the motherboard beeps...if it doesn't, it's not the vid card.

Repeat same with RAM...see if it beeps when you take out the RAM...if it doesn't, you may need to remove the whole motherboard and put it on the mobo box with an antistatic bag ontop of the box to see if the mobo was shorting out..

Try reseting the CMOS as the most basic of troubleshooting attemps
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.