Chaintech? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2004, 11:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Question Chaintech?



How do you guys feel about Chaintech boards?

Seems like they have a good selection with good features, but you don't hear much about them. Anyone got success stories? Horror stories?

__________________

ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 11:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

I don't really know, I just went with Asus because I didn't want to tech any chainces with something that important.

::::EDIT:::: Puns are fun ::::EDIT::::
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 11:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

What kinda proccessor? If amd, look for an asus, they are some of the best, even for p4s.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

I love mine, very high quality
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 05:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I had a chaintech graphics card, it worked for two months and them BOOM! one day it just started booting up with nothing but lines. I still need to send it to the manufacturer cause they'll replace parts gone bad, but I don't know what cause it to go out in the first place. ASUS no longer has some of the best boards, an asus board with nforce chipset is what I had and it wasn't compatible with the GeForceFX 5700 card from chaintech so I had to get an MSI motherboard. Sooo all in all to answer the question I'd go with an MSI motherboard. I didn't care for ASUS and this MSI has been real good thus far
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 05:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

It is true that Chaintech is never in the limelight, but I have never heard anything bad about their hardware - and thats the information I normally hear
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 10:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I used to have a Chaintech graphics card (Geforce 4 MX 420) and that worked fine. No complaints from me, since their prices are especially reasonable!
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 10:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

It seems like they have a lot of well thought-out boards, and their motherboard packages are sweet! I mean, how many other mobo companies sell their boards with rounded-cables? That's just boss! I'm always slinging those damn flat-ribbon IDE cables in the garbage and installing round cables. Then, on many of the boards, they have a processor socket that's not crowded out, a heat flange to protect your inputs, and on top of it all, their boards tend to look trick rather than dull "capacitor-farm".

Still, even though they look sweet and offer some sweet bonuses to their board packages...you hear so little about them. That makes me leery.

I have to agree with Nubius about the ASUS boards. Their latest boards don't seem to be that impressive. In fact, out of their whole line, I've only found one board that I was impressed with enough to consider buying it. I know they're a solid company that's been around...but I think they're drag'n a bit.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 03:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

MSI comes with roundcables, not sure if you were talking about chaintech or what but yeah I like the roundcables and my MSI KT6V came with em =)
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 08:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Default

So I don't start a new thread. How do you all feel about Soyo in general? More importantly the KT 600 dragon plus? I've heard good things about overclocking ability.
__________________

__________________
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.