A+ Certification - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2005, 08:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default A+ Certification

Can you take the A+ test without taking any classes and how much would that cost. Also what kind of questions are on the test.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 08:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330
Default

depends what state and degree
__________________

Amd64Boy is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 08:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Yes, about $350-370 and click here
m1thotyn is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 01:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

The questions range from windows 3.1 to windows xp and cover all the internal workings how the clock cycles work how to read HEX decimal How to deal with customers.Its pretty broad based.But you can take a on line course.The test in my state is about $ 100.00.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 01:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Default

The test is actualy very easy, a 3rd grader could ace it. I mean if you could learn addition and subtraction when you were 6-7 then it shouldnt take you longer than 1-2 weeks to study and prepare for a 85+ if you've been working with computers for awhile, I scored a 90 something and all I did was review the objectives the day before.

Prices may vary? thats interesting. To the best of my knowledge only 2 companies administer the test. I would think the prices would be the same everywhere.
m1thotyn is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 04:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

there are no prerequisites (except for money), you just take 2 exams; one for Operating System's and one for Hardware
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 09:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

And heres me, never even heard of that test.

What is it then?
__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 09:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to aparis99 Send a message via Yahoo to aparis99
Default

Like apokalipse said, there are 2 tests you have to pass before becoming 'certified'. One is Core Hardware, and the other is Operating Systems.

here in ky, they are $125 per test, so $250 to get A+ certified if u pass both of em.
__________________

aparis99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.