Centrino 1.5 GHz Stuck at 600Mhz! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2005, 12:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1
Default Centrino 1.5 GHz Stuck at 600Mhz!

Hi, I read this question on itmob.com . Anybody here know how to fix it??

Quote:
I tried to swap the P-M 705 for a P-M 745 (1.8GHz 2MB L2) but it would not work at any higher than 600MHz, so I thought it was just not compatible, so I returned it. But when I swapped the 1.5GHz back in, it too would no longer go higher than 600MHz, so I thought it was just not compatible, so I returned it. But when I swapped the 1.5GHz back in, it too would no longer go higher than 600MHz. I did a format after each time i changed processors. I downloaded the latest chipset utility from intel. I checked the BIOS if I can manually clock my processor. And I changed my power management scheme to minimal power management. But none of this helped.....Please help with any suggestions you can offer.
Thanks guys, appreciate it!
__________________

compu_wiz is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 01:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The Cool and quiet feature has underclocked it (lowered the multiplier) to keep the heat output to a minimum. It is standard for that to happen in laptops, due to the poor air circulation.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Yeah, try running CPU-z and then putting it under stress by running prime95 or something. You should see it jump up to its full speed.

It is completely normal for a P-M to sit at 600MHz when at an idle. Like Trifid said, the CPU "steps" down when not under stress to save energy and reduce heat. The CPU then automaticaly steps up when put under load.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 02:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

What is said above is exactly true

My laptop idles at 400 mhz <-_->
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.