Celeron Running 8116MHz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2009, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Celeron Running 8116MHz

Celeron Running 8116MHz

If you thought you had insane overclocking skills, you should check this out. Some guy cranked out 8116MHz using a Celeron, some LN2 and equal helpings of skill and luck.


__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 183
Default Re: Celeron Running 8116MHz

oh.. my... thats insane.
__________________

__________________
http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/3070/wizjz.jpg
AMD Phenom II X2 555 B.E @ 4.0 Ghz
Asus M4A88T -M/USB3
8 Gigs G-Skill Ripjaw DDR3
CM Storm Scout Tower
(1) 500 GB HD, (1) 300 GB HD
XFX GT240
Corsair CX500

Like my Sig?
I'll make ya one ;)
Dumpy is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 01:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Celeron Running 8116MHz

That's a lot of megahertz...I knew Celerons were good for cranking up a bit but my goodness...
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 02:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Celeron Running 8116MHz

Might be alot of megahertz but remember its still a celeron
Shumway is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 02:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Celeron Running 8116MHz

would love to see a superpi score for that chip.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 05:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Celeron Running 8116MHz

Think it outperforms an i7???
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 07:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Celeron Running 8116MHz

No way, but that's still awesome O_O
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 11:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Celeron Running 8116MHz

i wana see the day when chips come stock at that. That would be sweet.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 07:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Celeron Running 8116MHz

It's probably one of those deals where they have liquid nitrogen in the heatsink.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 07:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Celeron Running 8116MHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee View Post
It's probably one of those deals where they have liquid nitrogen in the heatsink.
Couldn't be, I mean nobody does that. Probably just running on the stock intel heatsink.
[/sarcasm]

__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing my Celeron D 347 with a e1200 celeron tomorrow night. -RockMan- System Upgrades 5 06-05-2008 08:52 PM
Help Request: Problems running WoW - why? Weavesy New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-07-2008 06:42 PM
Running Man Silhoutte commandercup Web Graphics and Design 0 04-13-2008 08:18 PM
Desktop icons and processes not running.. Manhuntkotor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-16-2007 11:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.