Celeron and a P4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2005, 04:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to Satan666
Question Celeron and a P4

Whats the difference between a intel celeron 2.7ghz 533 Front side bus and a intel Pentium 4 2.7ghz 533 Front side bus???
__________________

Satan666 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

The celeron has a smaller cache and dosen't have Hyper Threading,I think there's something else but i'm not too sure
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to Satan666
Default

i know that but my mobo wont take ht
Satan666 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the difference is a celeron is a budget processor. it has been stripped down and will not perform like the p4. the cpu's instructions have been inhibited and like shumway said they have a much smaller L2 cache
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 07:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

ok heres a comparison. A 3.06 GHZ celeron D processor performs around the speed of a 2.4-2.6 GHZ pentium. Sometimes lower for applications where l2 cache is important.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 10:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Didn't they have P4s without HT find one of those.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 10:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

I don't think his mobo supports HT
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 01:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

P4s without ht also suck, my old comp has one.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 02:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

They do does HT affect preformance that much? I never really read up on it.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 02:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Yeah HT seems to make a noticable difference with multitasking and whatnot. If you can't use a HT processor then there's no point getting one though.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.