Celeron to AMD? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2005, 01:49 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

I agree with ThE_MarD. I would also like to add, if you want to have fun with the cpu and video card. Get This for the cpu and This for the video card and overclock the hell out of them.
__________________

AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 01:59 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

I also just got a case for free from another bud, I have to pay shipping. I want to pay for things, but they say no. They are a great bunch.
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 02:06 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Got some good friends there.

What kind of ram do you have and what kind are you getting? I strongly don't recomend mixing different kinds (EX: having 2 sticks of PC2700 and 1 stick of PC2100). The problem this causes is, the faster sticks will downclock themselves so the slower one can keep up. So you aren't really gaining anything, speedwise. And i've heard some cases where it actually ruined the ram, not sure how acurate that is, but still.
AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 02:37 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

i have pc2700
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 06:22 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

ok, If I want to use my old dell's HD, what would I need to do to get that win xp to work in my new comp? I am also going to take the CD drive, if that matters.
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 06:26 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Its celeron D right? Have you tried fitting the AGP card onto your computer? do you have an agp slot?
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 07:08 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

neg, no celeron D, no agp

I am getting a new comp, I'm asking about the HD and cd drive (look a few posts above)
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 09:03 PM   #28 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mgoldb2
Here the link
http://www.planetbattlefield.com/bf2/game/system/



Am just telling you what the makers of the game say
If BF2 only ran on 19 video cards, not many people would be playing it. It should be fine. Even if the 2000+ is a little worse than the celeron, the AGP video card will make a bigger difference than the CPU. If it's free, why are you asking us?
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 10:33 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

I'll be upgrading sometime to the 2800+ xp, how is that? I mean, is it any good?
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.