celeron 400 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2003, 06:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default celeron 400

i have a celeron 400 processor, its one of the a sockets i believe?
the standing up thingys
anyways
i wanted to upgrade to a pentium
but im not sure what chip it is compatible with
the processor in it right now is the 400, im curious if its pentium 2 or 3 that i can change it
i think its pentium 2 but iw anna make sure
__________________

__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 06:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

What's your motherboard manufacturer and model? Is the motherboard of the PPGA socket variety or are you using a Slotket converter?

The Celeron 400 there is most likely to be PII-based.

If your motherboard is of the Socket 370 platform, you cannot install a Pentium II (Slot 1)..... plus, you have to further investigate if the Socket motherboard accepts PPGA or FC-PGA processors; as long as it accepts FC-PGA chips, you'll be able to use a Socket 370 Pentium III (not including the Tualatin-based PIIIs, which are of the FC-PGA2 variety).
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 03:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

I agree that it is probably a P2 based proc, although im not sure if the P2-based procs ever got beyond 366 MHz... Maybe im right, maybe im just stupid; im not sure.

You might want to check around on Google if you havent already done that.
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 05:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Yep... I had a p2 400 Mhz.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.