celeron 2.0 vs. celeron 2.7 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2004, 03:16 AM   #21 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

P4 is MUCH faster than any Celeron. Celeron is good for windows applications, simple and basic internet browsing, etc. Would not recommend it if u are focusing on a gaming PC. Go with AMD. AMD 64 preferably. You will notice a H U G E difference going from a Celeron to a AMD64.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 06:42 AM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I want to say a few points
* CPU speed doesn't affect internet speed, your modem does
* the amount of MHz doesn't necessarily affect performance, it's what it can do per clock cycle

e.g. a 1.67GHZ Athlon XP 2500+ performs about the same as a P4 that runs at 2.5GHZ

(2.5 / 1.67)*100 = 150% better performance the Athlon XP has clock for clock over the P4
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 08:55 AM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

yeah, but i only have a socket 478 board and don't really want to have to go the route of buying a whole new mobo just to get the AMD. I'll maybe save my ducats though for either a p4 2.8 or and AMD mobo.

The prob w/getting a whole new mobo for me that turns me away from doing so is that I DO NOT want to have reformat my drive for it. Way too much software to lose that I don't want to have to go thru trying to reaquire.
jaksback is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 12:36 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

Hey can somebody tell me where I get "clock gen" cause I want to try that out.
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 12:59 PM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

clockgen

click here for clock gen. just be real careful using it. I ended up getting a P42.4 and is now oc'd @ 2.8.

This mobo is from an HP and it is locked in the bios for oc'ing. Things have greatly improved by getting the P4, and all the various specs and scores are in my sig.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.