cdrw problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2004, 04:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Default cdrw problems

could anyone help me
i have a cdrom and a cdrw installed the cdrom is the master and the cdrw is the slave my cdrw works fine when writing onto a cd but either performs really slow or not atall wen reading of a disk its quite annoying cuz my cdrom is only slow and it takes forever to load on new programs
__________________

speedfreak1984 is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 05:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to JamieCarruthers
Default Re: cdrw problems

Quote:
Originally posted by speedfreak1984
could anyone help me
i have a cdrom and a cdrw installed the cdrom is the master and the cdrw is the slave my cdrw works fine when writing onto a cd but either performs really slow or not atall wen reading of a disk its quite annoying cuz my cdrom is only slow and it takes forever to load on new programs
Hi,

We could help but with what? There is only one question there and this is 'could anyone help me?'

Please give a little more details,

Thanks,
J.
__________________

JamieCarruthers is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 05:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Default

my cdrw is really slow when reading from cds is there anything i can try?
speedfreak1984 is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 05:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to JamieCarruthers
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by speedfreak1984
my cdrw is really slow when reading from cds is there anything i can try?
What speed is your CD-RW, if it's a slow speed that will not help?
JamieCarruthers is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 05:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Default

nope it is a 52x read and write and 24 rw
speedfreak1984 is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 08:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Set your CD-RW to primary, doing so will cause most of your power to focus on that. Right now, your CD-ROM has most of the power, which isn't needed. Set your CD-RW to primary and your CD-ROM to secondary. That should help out. That really shouldn't be the case though, but make sure you aren't burning at 52x. Unless it's from a really good brand like Sony or Plextor, DO NOT burn at 52x. Most of the time it will fail because it goes too damn fast and the buffer messes up completely.
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 11:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

If I have my 48x CD-RW set on slave and my 16x DVD ROM set on master should I change that for max efficiency?
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 12:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i have never heard of that fix before and i am skeptical that would do anything at all, his problem lies elswhere.

True_Orb i would leave your configuration the way it is or if you want the max efficiency put each optical drive on a separate IDE controller. there are somtimes problems with buffer underrun when you have them on the same cable.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 05:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Default

just fort of something else i have an sata hardrive so wud it be better to put 1 drive in the ide 0 and 1 on ide 2?
__________________

speedfreak1984 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.