CDRW Burner Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2005, 12:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default CDRW Burner Problem

ok so heres the problem my writer seems to go on and off so lets say i boot with it on then after like an hour or so it will start blinkin rapidly and turn off like it wont eject or anything and while this is happening my pc freezes for like a min or so at a time.. then when i reboot i go into the bios menu and i have it auto detect the hardware and now it says not installed for the writer where before it said installed..so what do you think the problem is its an atapi cdrw 24x10x40x please i need help desperatly
__________________

iamloco724 is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 12:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

downloard latest driver.
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 06:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sounds like it could be a psu problem.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 12:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default

whats a psu problem?
iamloco724 is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 02:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

maybe the psu doesnt have enough power (wattage) to run the drive?

what is ur psu rating, and what are your system specs...
cpu?
mobo?
any cards?
hd? how many?
ram?
fans?
any lights/leds?
usb devices?
joshd is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 03:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Well, the only way it could really be a psu problem is if he has less than a 250w psu, and guessing by his knowledge of not knowing what a psu is, he hasn't built his own machine, so he might be running a dell or something....
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 03:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

that depends on what his spec is. if he has lots of power-sucking stuff then even a 350w may not be enough
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.