Cdrw - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2004, 06:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default Cdrw

Hi,

Hope some one can help, I want to put a CDRW in my 333Mh machine, The bios detects it but now I can't see either the CD R or the CD RW in Windows. I have checked all the usual stuff jumpers, master, slave etc, I have even changed the IDE ribbon cables.

The drives are not showing up in device manager either! I have also installed a generic CD ROM driver (The optorite site doesn't seem to have one for the CDRW)

Cheers Terry
__________________

notaclue is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 06:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Default

You need CD-Burning software. You could try Roxio's Easy CD creator. Though I'm not sure where you can get the free version (includes functions to burn data and music). Or you could buy it at http://www.roxio.com/ Or for music you can download iTunes (if you're on 2000 or XP) or the latest Windows Media player. There are others, but I don't know where they are.
__________________

__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 09:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

What OS are you using.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 03:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,

Many thanks for your replies and help, but I'm not sure that the burning software drives the devices (CDRW/CDR). Tech4hire, I'm using Win Me

Cheers Terry
notaclue is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 09:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,

Thanks for your reply and help, I have tried adding each drive seperately, and also the add hardware wizard, but neither detects the drives

Terry
notaclue is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 09:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,

Many thanks to every body who posted advice. I've found a fix for my prob, and have now got the CDRW installed My PC was running in DOS compatability Mode which, amongst other things prevents the protected -mode drivers from initialising when Windows starts. When this occurs, a NOIDE value is placed in the registry which prevents windows from making future attempts to initialise the protected-mode driver.

If anyone else has similiar probs go here: http://www.support.microsoft.com/sup...pics/hardware/

Article 151911

Cheers Terry
__________________

notaclue is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.