CDrom won't run CD's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2004, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to Macattack
Default CDrom won't run CD's

My CDrom recently has not been runnning CD's. I have Windows XP and Norton Systyem works. The drivers are updated and everythying is plugged in correctly.


When I insert a CD the computer thinks and the CDrom whrrs up then whrrs down and stops thinking. I can't install any new programs because the disk won't auto run. Programs that are already installed will not run either the computer just sits and when I move the mouse it will freeze after a few seconds and I cannot access anything while the CD is in the drive.

I'm out of ideas can anyone help me out please?
__________________

Macattack is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 10:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

is the drive installed correclty? look in device manager. What brand is the cd drive? Have u tryed different cds?
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 10:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to bubba0315 Send a message via Yahoo to bubba0315
Default

The disk might be dirty, or have a lot of scratches, and the drive might not be able to read it, correctly. Make sure that the disk is clean, and then put it in, to see if it's still not reading. If it's not, then the cd drive might be bad.

Mike
bubba0315 is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 02:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to Macattack
Default

Yes the drive is installed correctly. Its a standard CDrom drive and it says that everything is working properly.

The CD's I am useing are brand new and not scratched. One game does work though, but only that one.
I have also tried many CD's same thing happens everytime.
Macattack is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 04:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Check the jumpers and try switching it to a different IDE channel. Or switch it with a friend's computer and see if that helps. If not, shell out the 20 bucks and get yerself a new one partner.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 05:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Yourdrivers might have become corrupted. Remove the CD-ROM drivers from hardware manager and reboot. Windows will detect it and reinstall the drivers. This might help
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.