Cdrom Drive Not Working! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2003, 06:17 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

have you got the jumper settings correct? if both are set to master or something it can (will) cause problems
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-07-2003, 06:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what type/brand are your CD/DVD drives?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-14-2003, 12:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to screaminglucy
Lightbulb

Try replacing the CMOS battery....I had the same problem, same motherboard and replacing the battery fixed it.
screaminglucy is offline  
Old 09-14-2003, 01:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 49
Default

same here, change the battery, reset the bios.
if doest work, then, take out memory, all unecesary pci cards and boot, it coul be a mother board problem.
iory_yagamy is offline  
Old 09-14-2003, 02:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
Default

Same problem happened to me, all i had to do was remove that tiny gray audio cable connected to the drive.Thus Behold!
Windows xp recognizd it again ....
gammacrush2000 is offline  
Old 09-14-2003, 02:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MicroBell
If that fails...remove both devices in device manager and let windows install them again. What OS are you useing??
microbell that logic doesn't make any sense to me because he was listing what his BIOS was giving him

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Auto Detecting Pri Master...IDE Hard disc
Auto Detecting Pri Slave...Not Detected
Auto Detecting Sec Master...ATAPI CDROM
Auto Detecting Sec Slave...Not Detected
Ultra DMA Mode-5 S.M.A.R.T Capable But Disabled


Sec Master Drive-ATAPI Incompatible
Press f1 to Resume
------------------------------------------------------------------

the operating system hasn't even been loaded yet so there is no way his OS can detect something that the BIOS hasn't detected. that grey audio connector sounds interesting and might work. or maybe even taking out one of the cd-rom drives and testing them out individually to see if one of them has failed or just mess with the jumper configuration might work also.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-14-2003, 03:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
Default

i'm running my cd-rw drive without the audio cable right now. but i don't know how that effects the burning process.

I SCREAMED EUREKA WHEN I DISCOVERED THE CURE FOR MY SICK PC! (i later called a tech cuz u f*cked it up more)
[does not include the drive(just the os) ]
your cd drive is gonna work when you disconnect the audio cable , trust me
gammacrush2000 is offline  
Old 09-14-2003, 03:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

who's suggestion made you f*cked it up more gammacrush2000?

the audio cable is just for listening to a music cd with headphones plugged directly to the cd-rom i think. it is plugged from the sound card to the cd-rom. you most likely dont need it unless you like using headphones on the cd-rom
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-14-2003, 03:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
Default

omg, i meant my suggestion, me so sry
gammacrush2000 is offline  
Old 09-15-2003, 09:30 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

People and that damn CMOS battery. lol

Anyway, how old is the drive? Some brands suck. Fact of life. I've seen Creative brand drives crap out after 8 months of use.

There's a good chance your drive just died. They do that, depending on how much you use it, dust in the area, among other things.
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.