CD-RW drive showing as CDROM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2003, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Default CD-RW drive showing as CDROM

hey guys,

i have a generic CD-RW and it shows as a CDROM in windows2k.
any ideas why, it shows as a bte1486 or something in the bios, it also says it is a CDRW, which it is.

thanks in advance

carl
__________________

concept is offline  
Old 10-01-2003, 11:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

does the cdrw have a driver? how is it setup inside your PC?
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 10-02-2003, 12:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Default

it did not come with a drive but it came with the burning software.
if your asking wheter it is a master or slave on ide 1 or 2. then it would be a slave on ide2 and is runing of a split power supply cord thing. i have a 500watt though so it shouldnt be a problem. \

thanx
concept is offline  
Old 10-02-2003, 08:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

well, have you tried setting it as master in ide2?
devlish96 is offline  
Old 10-02-2003, 08:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Default

k ill try that tonight and ill post tommorow.
thanx devlish96
concept is offline  
Old 10-03-2003, 08:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Default

i tried to connect as the master but it still came up as a normal CD drive

carl
concept is offline  
Old 10-05-2003, 12:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Default

so no ideas anyone????
please!
concept is offline  
Old 10-07-2003, 03:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

if its generic it may not be identifying itself correctly with your operating system. if you can still burn cd's from it than don't worry about it. if you cannot than try to find updated firmware for that drive and install it. only do that if you have serious problem with the drive.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.