cd rom problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2003, 01:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Default cd rom problems

ok so here is my problem. whenever i try to install anything from a cd it doesn't work. my mouse just has the little spinning thing forever and ever and ever. also when i try to manually run it, instead of autoplaying, it just gives me an explorer not responding error. this is very annoying sence i got some thing i need to install. also i cant run games or anything off of cds. games like warcraft 3 and stuff. i have to use no cd cracks and it is getting annoying. so if anyone has any advice on how to fix it please let me know. is buying a new cd rom going to help?
__________________

styka7 is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 11:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Well, since you are having problems with more than 1 CD I would say that it's either the CD-ROM itself or the cable and/or controller that you are using for the CD-ROM. These days, it can't hurt to go out and get another CD-ROM. They are so freakin' cheap! This would, at least, eliminate the CD-ROM for being a problem. Or it just might work after a new CD-ROM is in place.
Or better yet, why not get another CD-ROM from another PC. Get one from a friend, one that you know for a fact works in another system. Once you test it, you'll have a better understanding of where the problem is, ya know?
GL

-Michael
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to jamminparidise
Default

I agree, first check the cables inside, sometimes they work themselves just loose enough to give you problems, but still get recognized on boot and in windows. Check the cables first, then start swapping stuff out, cable would probably be the easiest to try first, then try swappin cd roms, they're cheap so maby you could upgrade at the same time. BTW is this a burner or dvd player too? or just a regular cdrom? it makes no difference in the setup, or troubleshooting. But if you have an extra comp sittin around, swap cdrom's and see if they work in each other.
jamminparidise is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 04:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to Mm9004
Default

are your drives recognised by Explorer? Can you see them in My Computer?

Does IE recognise your CD-ROMs once they are in the drive?
Mm9004 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.