CD-Rom problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2004, 02:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default CD-Rom problem

I'm putting together a simple comp for my mom, but the CD-Rom drive won't show up. It's 'seen' by the computer in bios and device manager, however in device manager there's an error saying something is wrong with the driver. This cd drive was given to me by a friend, it's a samsung....
When I go to update driver, windows says it can not find any drivers that's more up to date than the one I have already installed.

My question is does this sound like a hardware failure or a software failure? Could there be a problem with the cd rom drive it self, motherboard or anything to that extent? Or is this a strictly driver problem? And why isn't windows recognizing it.

I can't really do anything without a CD-Rom since everything is on CD.
Also I've gone to samsung's website and downloaded what is suppose to be the driver for that specific CD drive.... and it still shows up as error in the device manager.... very frustrating.
__________________

__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

Is the IDE cable damaged?

Is it put in back words because:

A: the cable is an older one that is not keyed?

B: the drive is old and you are supposed to have the “power-line” side of the cable facing away from the “powered-side” of the drive?
__________________

__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

No, I'm afraid I've double check all the IDE cables.... seems to me they're fine.
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Drivers for Driver..."

Try taking the CDROM out, and reading the name and the version of it, then look for the drivers for it at:

www.driverzone.com
www.windrivers.com
Another thing you might want to do is to check your hardware profiles. (Start Menu/Control Panels/System- Look in the Device manager tab.) Check to see if there's anything wrong with the CDROM, or if there's anything in there that says "Unknown device". And if there is, Dellete it.
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 09-19-2004, 08:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

If your BIOS sees it but windows doesn't, check your device manager. It may be a corrupted driver. Either remove the driver from the device manager or through the add/remove hardware. Reboot and windows will reinstall a fresh set of drivers for it.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.