CD-ROM Drive Errors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2004, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Default CD-ROM Drive Errors

Hi all.
I just began having a problem with both my DVD-ROM and my CD-RW drive. I went into My Computer and noticed that neither of them were showing up. It simply shows my floppy and the C: drive. I went into Device Manager and both drives have a little ! error type thing next to them. Under Device Status in the properties for each drive, they both say "Windows cannot start this hardware device because its configuration information (in the registry) is incomplete or damaged. (Code 19)" They both say the same thing. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling them both but that didn't fix it. My computer is free of spyware; I run Spybot and Ad-Aware daily. It is in the process of running a virus scan right now with Norton Antivirus 2005 because that is the first thing that came to mind as to why this is happening. Did something maybe happen to the registry, and would there be a way to fix it? If not, what is the problem here and what can I do about it? I've listed my drives and my computer specs below. Any help would be sincerely appreciated. Thanks a lot.


P4 1.5 GHz
640 Mb RAM (128 and 512)
Western Digital Caviar 120 GB
Windows XP Service Pack 1
if any other specs are needed, just tell me.

mrprimo55 is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64

have you tried downloading new drives and reinstalling them? Also go here and see if it helps just scroll down

AMD XP 2500+ (barton)
2X512 DDR 400 kingston
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo
Chaintech Geforce 5200 128mb
160 Gb WD 7200RPM
80 Gb WD 7200RPM
NEC 2500 a
sergiofar is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 05:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes


Possible registry change, try this link
intercodes is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10

the registry change worked. thanks!
mrprimo55 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.