CD-ROM Disappearance - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2004, 04:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Question CD-ROM Disappearance

So I was on my girlfriend's laptop last night and I noticed that the computer doesn't acknowledge the CD-ROM... I go to My Computer and the D: is non-existent. I check the Drive Manager and the Secondary IDE channel is working properly and the troubleshooter is no help. A System Restore is no help either. I don't know what could have happened to make it "disappear" because she uses it as her desktop and doesn't take it anywhere. And if I put a CD in the drive the light blinks like it reads it but it never auto-starts, and even if I go to Run and type d: it gives an error saying the drive is not there or something. Please help if you can. Sorry for the long post.
__________________

Posts_For_Help is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to Tetsusaiga
Default

i could be a dirty lens, if it is than you could just get a $5.00 lens cleaner.
and if the doesnt work, the lens could be defective, if so, then get a new Cd-rom (or get it fixed)
__________________

__________________
Specs:
P4 3.2ghz @ 3864mhz
1024mb RAM pc2700
2x 120gb maxtor HD
Asus P4P800-S
Albatron nVIDIA GeForce 6800 256mb
19” SENergy 981 TFT LCD (got it for $500 from my dad\'s work, RETAIL: $880:cool: )
Altec Lansing 5.1 speakers
MOBO upgrade coming soon
Dim Tetsusaiga as Integer
Tetsusaiga is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 02:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Default

I don't understand how or why a dirty lens would take the d: off the list on My Computer. That doesn't make sense at all. A dirty lens would give the drive problems reading a disc. The drive just isn't there according to the computer.
Posts_For_Help is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 02:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 228
Send a message via Yahoo to jaun1477
Default

prob your girlfriend deleted the drive
have you run the new hardware install to see if does detect it?
__________________
EL VAQUERO
_________________
amd athlon xp 2400+
1 apacer 256mb unb pc2700 cl2.5
motherboard msi kt4av via kt400a chipset based
1 ??? 512 mb pc2700
1 agp 8x/4x (geforce 4 predator mx4408x)
2 year old 21 magnavox monitor
1 aquos sharp 15\"tv
Seagate 40gb hd
DC Output: 420Watts Total: +5V/0~42A, +12V/0~18A
+3.3V/0~26A, -5V/0~0.8A, -12V/0~1.0A, +5VSB/0~2.5A.
http://img44.photobucket.com/albums/...vantar_gif.gif
jaun1477 is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Goto control panel, double click Administrative properties, when the thing comes up, click "Device Manager"

You will see all of the device listings there.

If you do not see the D Drive, on the Device Manager, look on the very top of the list.

At the top should be the main computer system, and underneath are all of the components (that i just told you about)

Right click on the computer symbol at the very top of the list, and click "Scan for hardware changes"

This not only scans for hardware changes, but also scans for anything that is connected to the PC but is not installed yet, so that should install the CD Drive back to normal.

If it doesn't, simply reply again and I will try to provide more assistance.

Good luck!
Chubz is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 02:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 228
Send a message via Yahoo to jaun1477
Default

one more thing is alignment if you press to hard in you cd room
after you put a disc in lift it a bit an see if it plays
__________________
EL VAQUERO
_________________
amd athlon xp 2400+
1 apacer 256mb unb pc2700 cl2.5
motherboard msi kt4av via kt400a chipset based
1 ??? 512 mb pc2700
1 agp 8x/4x (geforce 4 predator mx4408x)
2 year old 21 magnavox monitor
1 aquos sharp 15\"tv
Seagate 40gb hd
DC Output: 420Watts Total: +5V/0~42A, +12V/0~18A
+3.3V/0~26A, -5V/0~0.8A, -12V/0~1.0A, +5VSB/0~2.5A.
http://img44.photobucket.com/albums/...vantar_gif.gif
jaun1477 is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 02:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Default

I uninstalled the driver and restarted the computer, it said Found New Hardware, Your New Hardware is Ready to use. But still the same problem.
__________________

Posts_For_Help is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.