CD Rom - CD RW - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2005, 02:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 49
Default CD Rom - CD RW

Can somebody tell me how connect a CD Rom to my CD Writer in my computer ? It seems pretty handy to me to be able to copy a CD from the CD Rom drive straight into the CD RW drive.

CD-RW Master ? CD Rom slave ? Any special settings/software needed ? Any special attention to something I might overlook ?

coffee4me is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 02:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574

Put them on different channels, like one on primary and one on secondary. You will need software, like Nero for example.


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'

m3trj is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 02:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 49

I already have 2 hard drives on 1 channel.....
Only a CD RW on the other channel.
coffee4me is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10

How about moving the second HD to the other IDE channel. Set both HDs as master on each channel and have each writer as the slave drive on each channel. That should work. I have a DVD ROM set up as slave on the primary IDE and both a DVD writer and a combo on the secondary IDE.
roypk is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 03:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Shumway's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729

Originally posted by coffee4me
I already have 2 hard drives on 1 channel.....
Only a CD RW on the other channel.

Just leave the hard drive's the way they are,On the second channel set the burner as master and the cd rom as slave.
Shumway is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 06:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
KorKwin's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293

If both the CD drives are on the same channel, won't one have to stop and wait for the other one to recieve data versus if both the CD drives are on different channels, it would be a 'constant flow'?

Same thing with the hard drives...

It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.