CD & DVD can read files but plays audio - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2004, 08:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 26
Question CD & DVD can't read files but plays audio

I don't know what happened but after installing Norton AV 2004 my CD & DVD drives can't read or display files but they can both play audio files.

When system rebooted and I forgot to remove the Norton disk and was asked if I wanted to boot from the Norton CD. I said no and now no matter what disk I insert the following error message
displays
E Or D:\is not accessible "Incorrect Function"

What happened?
__________________

mzpatti is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 01:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Well uninstall everything then reinstall everything. Is Norton the software that came with your CD/DVD drives??
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 02:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 26
Default

Norton Antivirus came with my CPU and I upgraded from 2003 to 2004. It read the Norton disk or I could not have installed the software.

I tried to restore to yesterday and twice it failed. Then I used Roxio Go Back. My drives were again readable and when it rebooted new hardware was found. The Cd and DVD drives. So thinking it was fixed I again installed Norton 2004. Same thing "Incorrect function. " Is it a Norton problem?
mzpatti is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 11:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

mzpatti,

There are problem with norton and neroincd , if that's your case , uninstall neroincd and enable norton.

Also a possiblity that if you have roxio installed, you might get this error.
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;315350

In the worst case, try to get rid of Norton ....its a lame s/w IMO . get avast or avg for an good AV
intercodes is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 06:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 26
Default

I contacted Norton and was able to fix the problem really fast following their advise.

Tx,
Patti
mzpatti is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.