CD burning question... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2007, 09:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Sounds like you forgot to have the BIOS save your setting.

Burn the ISO as an image, and there ya go.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 09:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Well, I guess I'm just an idiot cause I can't get it to work.


Thanks anyways.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 03:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to BryanJK Send a message via MSN to BryanJK Send a message via Yahoo to BryanJK
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
Yes...

It never even came up with the "press any key to boot", it just went straight to windows...as in, it wasn't booting from it.
Yea, I often have that problem... try using another CD tray, for some reason... only me DVD drive will boot cds.. and my the Microsoft "Elite" Wireless Keyboard also has issues booting. When it asks, you have to press the "Locate Device Button" on the controller that goes into the computer. Otherwise, try re-burning the disk, or try using another keyboard.
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 - 3.5GHz
3024mb DDR2 778MHz RAM
160gb SATA + 40gb IDE
nVidia GeForce 7600GT (750mhz Core /1200mhz RAM)
Apeva X-Discovery + Blu Orb II + Zalman VGA Cooler
BryanJK is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 05:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Depending on what you are trying to burn, some CDs require a specific boot configuration so your OS can tell what it should do with the cd without you giving it instructions. In programs like Nero, you can supply a boot file (which is only a tiny bit of data), these are files that, if you're lucky, you can get off the internet. I can imagine that' Hiren's Boot CD' has a boot record on the cd itself, if not it would be very ironic... Look for it, the extension would be .ima

If you have a file like that, use your Nero 7 and supply that boot file, add the ISO file and burn it. (sometimes it works better to mount an ISO file on a virtual disc with programs like Alcohol 120% or Daemon Tools and then copy the whole content to your harddrive and burn that).
Phrantic is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 07:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Default

First off I wanna say, an ISO is NOT necessarily a bootable CD. an ISO is simply an image of a CD typically used for copying it.

Second, boot to windows, put the CD in the drive and open the CD. What files does it list? If it lists the image, you didn't burn correctly. If it lists other stuff, it did.

If you have nero smartstart, just select the backup tab, and scroll right, you'll see an option "Burn image to disc" Otherwise open up "Nero Burning Rom" Select CD(ISO), Select the ISO tab, and hit open. Find the ISO you want to burn and proceed from there.

Burn at half maximum speed too, as it'll help prevent errors.

If you've burned it okay, double check your bios to make sure it's set to boot from CD.
__________________

__________________
http://www.geocities.com/signature_s...dphxnoedge.jpg
System: Athlon 64 X2 3800+
EVGA Geforce 8600 GTS 256mb PCIE
ECS (pile of crap) Mobo
1.5 GB Corsair PC3200
Soundblaster Audigy Pro
Windows XP Pro, Lemming Optimized.
ShackledPhoenix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.