CD burning question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2007, 04:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default CD burning question...

I didn't know where to put this, so I stuck it here. Feel free to move it.


So, I'm a newb when it comes to burning things...'cause I never do it.

I downloaded this thing called "Hiren's Boot CD". Someone posted a link to it one time, so I downloaded it. Apparently it has a lot of useful boot utilities.

I'd kind of like to try it out, but I'm not sure how to do it. It's in ISO format. There are several options, I'm using Nero 7. Which option do I choose?

Might be a dumb question, but I don't want to ruin a bunch of CD's.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

An ISO is a bootable disc image.

When you boot up your computer, the ISO will give you a menu asking what you want to do.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 05:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

If you want to boot from the cd you have to burn it in ISO format.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 05:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Ok, so with Nero I choose "CD-ROM (ISO)" from the list?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 05:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to BryanJK Send a message via MSN to BryanJK Send a message via Yahoo to BryanJK
Default

To burn an image or iso to a cd-rom, I use a quick, easy, and free program called ImgBurn. Which you can download by clicking here. When it's installed, insert a blank disc into your Cd/dvd burner, find the iso, and right click and go to "Burn with ImgBurn". (Or you can go in through the actual application). It's that easy... then when it's burned you can reboot and boot to the image. Usually when you boot it might say something like "Boot Selection, choose boot device" or something like that. If not, enter setup with the key it tells you (often F1, F8, or DEL)... and find somewhere in CMOS where it says "First Boot Device" and change it to your CD drive or whatever the boot disc you burned is in... then change it back to your harddisk/boot device when your done... if your running Mac OS read this, or if your using linux read this on burning ISOs/images.
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 - 3.5GHz
3024mb DDR2 778MHz RAM
160gb SATA + 40gb IDE
nVidia GeForce 7600GT (750mhz Core /1200mhz RAM)
Apeva X-Discovery + Blu Orb II + Zalman VGA Cooler
BryanJK is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 05:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I tried burning it to an ISO with Nero, and I couldn't boot with it. ??
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 06:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to BryanJK Send a message via MSN to BryanJK Send a message via Yahoo to BryanJK
Default

What did your bios say when you tried to boot to it?
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 - 3.5GHz
3024mb DDR2 778MHz RAM
160gb SATA + 40gb IDE
nVidia GeForce 7600GT (750mhz Core /1200mhz RAM)
Apeva X-Discovery + Blu Orb II + Zalman VGA Cooler
BryanJK is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 06:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

What?

It just loaded XP.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 10:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Is your BIOS set to CD as first boot device?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 07:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Yes...

It never even came up with the "press any key to boot", it just went straight to windows...as in, it wasn't booting from it.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.