case thermometer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2004, 08:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default case thermometer

i bought a new case today, and it comes with a thermometer to display the temp on the front of the case. i see the thermometer coming from the front of the comp, but should i just let is hang on the bottom of the case? sorry if you consider this a stupid question, but i'm a stupid person, so it works out.

case: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-026&depa=0
__________________

TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 11:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

This should come with some tape as well. If you want to just display the case temp then tape the wire (not the actual thermometer) to the side of the case and let the thermom. hang a bit. Or you can tape it to the chipset of a harddrive, CPU, etc.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 01:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

what do you mean by 'hanging on the bottom'?
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 06:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

i just meant like not doing anything with it, like taping it, and letting it lay on the bottom of the case.
TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 228
Send a message via Yahoo to jaun1477
Default

choose the part where is not to close to cables or its gonna give you readings of beeing to hot
and not to close to the case fan or it will show like i said wrong readings
you migth want to set it in a position where it reads the general heat
and dont just set it in the bottom or the cold metal will show cold readings
__________________
EL VAQUERO
_________________
amd athlon xp 2400+
1 apacer 256mb unb pc2700 cl2.5
motherboard msi kt4av via kt400a chipset based
1 ??? 512 mb pc2700
1 agp 8x/4x (geforce 4 predator mx4408x)
2 year old 21 magnavox monitor
1 aquos sharp 15\"tv
Seagate 40gb hd
DC Output: 420Watts Total: +5V/0~42A, +12V/0~18A
+3.3V/0~26A, -5V/0~0.8A, -12V/0~1.0A, +5VSB/0~2.5A.
http://img44.photobucket.com/albums/...vantar_gif.gif
jaun1477 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.