Case Temp Readout - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2005, 01:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Question Case Temp Readout

A little while back i bought the Antec P160 and it was overall a great case. More recently i bought this god-forsaken bundle off newegg.com (mobo, cpu, and ram) and ever since installing it, the temp led on the case doesnt show anything. Could this be the evil doings of MSI? Or am i just n00bing it up ?
__________________

JasumX is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 01:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

it you plug the temp led wire to the motherboard?
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 01:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

lol ^^ hed be right..
it could be that uve plugged it in the wrong spot
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 02:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

for me i plug my temp led into my power supply
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 01:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default

temp LED wire it has 2 probes and all i had to do before was put those somewhere.

Edit: just to clarify the probes dont connect to anything on the motherboard they're just there to read the temps
JasumX is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 11:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default

so... nobody knows anything beyond that?
JasumX is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 12:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default

obviously i came to the wrong place... sorry
JasumX is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 01:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Easy dude, 40 minutes without a reply is not going to kill you.

Here is what you need to look for:

There should be a power wire buried in the front of that case somewhere that feeds power to the temperature display in the front panel.

There will be a seperate wire lead that has a small diode on the end (the temperature sensor) that goes to the heat sync. Thet lead will be obvious, while the power connector will look like a fan plug.

Post with your findings, I am curious what is hiding in that case.
__________________
<b><a href=\"http://www.switchphase.net\" target=\"_blank\">Computer and I.T. solutions for small business</a></b><br><b><a href=\"http://www.laptoprepairdirect.com\" target=\"_blank\">Laptop Repair Direct</a></b>
switch is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 11:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default

problem solved i ordered a fan controller with a temp readout. there is no power dedicated to the front bezel except for the leds and nothing of that goes up to the temp readout. im figuring its either the mobo or i screwed a wire up when i was installing the mobo. either way i went for the quick fix.
__________________

JasumX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.