Which card is better - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2005, 04:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hacp
6600GT matches the x800. x800 has 12 while 6600GT has 8.
I dont know what you been looking at but every test I have ever seen the x800 is better then the 6600Gt.
__________________

mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 04:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hacp
6600GT matches the x800. x800 has 12 while 6600GT has 8.
I don't get what you are saying. You don't compare an 8 pipe card to a 12 pipe one... You would compare the 6800, because it also has 12 pipes, and it supports SM3. You would compare the 6600gt to an x600pro, and then it beats it hard.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 04:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
You would compare the 6600gt to an x600pro, and then it beats it hard.
Acturally the radeon x700pro is what radeon releases to compete with the 6600gt. So comparing those 2 would acturally be the fair things to do. In this case the 6600GT still wins.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 05:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

The reason im avoiding the 6600 is not for the cards price itsself
its the power supply needs, i was going to get a 6200 and a 300 watt powersupply (300 is the best for its price i can find at newegg for an ATX micro) and it would come around to 150 dollers. Although if i get the 6600 i would need the next larger micro supply which is 30 dollers more and the card add price. Will the 6600GT or 6600 run on 300 watt ?
Note: im not getting another ATI card because of SM3
__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 05:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I really don't know, I am inclined to say yes, the 6600 vanilla should work with 300W, but I don't think it would with the GT. I say this, because I used to have a GeforceFX 5600 that said it required a 250W PSU, but it worked just fine on my 200W.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 05:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Default

You may want to try the SAPPHIRE ATI RADEON 9800 PRO 128MB for $99.

http://www.dealoverflow.com/85/sapph...adeon-9800-pro
kelp is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 05:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

Like my past post, im not going to use ATI cards anymore because of SM3. Any way i think i might cough up about 70 dollers for the 450watt power supply (seems so high but i cant find any others for micro ATX) and the 6600GT but im going to be very low on money for a while, i hate not having a job...to make money of course. anyways later in the future im going to have to get a larger supply sooner or later

Also i cant open the page there kelp
__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 06:13 PM   #18 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Don't get that 450 watt one. That is a very bad brand. Here, I found that 350W one for $57 on another site using pricegrabber:
http://www.mwave.com/mwave/viewspec....iteria=BA21490
It seems to be a reliable site because 1369 reviewers gave it 4 and a half stars out of 5.

To kelp:
He has PCI Express, not AGP
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 06:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

i really dont want to order 2 things off of a different sight, is that 450 one really that bad? Im very careful
__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 06:20 PM   #20 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

There is a sticky at the top of the forum which lists parts and brands NOT to get, and there are one or two people who got that brand PSU and had nightmares with it. It also dosn't have overvoltage protection.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.