can't tell if it has agp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2005, 01:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default can't tell if it has agp

how can i tell if a laptop has an AGP slot or not? we just bought one for college, and even though gaming isnt a main priority, i'd like to find out if the laptop has agp slot....hp.com doesnt help, and i cant find the product specs anywhere

is there a way to tell (besides opening the computer) if there is an agp slot? i mean anywhere to go under control panel or whatever

thanks

btw: its an HP pavilion dv1217us
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

It's a laptop. I'm not sure what the interface is, but I think that cards are onboard. Although, if it dosent suck it will prolly have an AGP slot.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Laptops don't have Advanced Graphics Ports. Almost all laptops have thier Graphics Porcessing Unit integrated onto the motherboard.

However, there is a new technology developed by nvidia called the MXM Graphics Module. Before MXM, there was no graphics port standard for laptops, allowing you to use interchangeable GPUs.

Laptops with MXM allow the GPU to be changed, as easy as changing SODIMMs in a laptop. It's a revolutionary port designed to apply greater flexibility in laptop upgradeability.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default Re: Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by Alvin.C
Hello,

Laptops don't have Advanced Graphics Ports. Almost all laptops have thier Graphics Porcessing Unit integrated onto the motherboard.

However, there is a new technology developed by nvidia called the MXM Graphics Module. Before MXM, there was no graphics port standard for laptops, allowing you to use interchangeable GPUs.

Laptops with MXM allow the GPU to be changed, as easy as changing SODIMMs in a laptop. It's a revolutionary port designed to apply greater flexibility in laptop upgradeability.
so what does this mean for me? lol

the laptop is very new, just got it today
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Why do you want to know if it has one? If you got it today, just be rest assured that it dosent suck.
Him is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 07:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default

no laptop has an agp slot, no way it would fit. laptops aren't made to be upgradeable like that some have separate graphics cards but its a different slot system than normal pcs.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/slayer924.png
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 07:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: can't tell if it has agp

Quote:
Originally posted by Quintox
how can i tell if a laptop has an AGP slot or not?
Not for a standard vidio card.....

Laptop come with onboard Video Cards. And NO, you can not change them.

NUFF SED!
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 08:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Mine came with an onboard AGP card.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.